12 November 2018

Sevenoaks students elected to town Youth Council

Share article:

Thirteen Sevenoaks students have joined the town’s Youth Council for its new term of office, with three being elected to positions of authority.

The Sevenoaks Youth Council was created in 2008 with the aim of enabling young people to learn about government by operating as a junior version of the Town Council. This year, 16 places were allocated, but due to the unprecedented number of young people wanting to join, this was increased to 25.

Particular congratulations to the following students, who were elected at the first meeting of the new Youth Council: Tasha Dambacher was elected to Chairman, Charlotte Foulds was elected to Vice Chairman and Matthias Jammot was elected to Treasurer.

The Youth Councillors are elected from those living within five miles of Sevenoaks or attending school within the town. They represent schools and cadet groups to cover a diverse range of ethnic backgrounds to enable engagement for local young people. The presence of the Youth Council facilitates Sevenoaks Town Council to be confident that a young person’s point of view will be heard and will assist to progress their ideas.

Sevenoaks students now on the Youth Council: Roshni Agarwal, Eva Azazoglu, Phoebe Critchlow (second two-year term), Tasha Dambacher, Charlotte Foulds, Matthias Jammot, Meera, Emily Mahoney, Megan Ng, Louisa Phillips, Rose Spurling, Gabby Tan, Loic Thiry and Katie Willis (second two-year term).

Share article:

Back to all news